Fate of 71 candidates fron DK; 46 in Udupi will be sealed in EVM Machines tomorrow

Mangalore/Udupi, May 4: Elections always brought with it a sense of hustle-bustle and even a smallest of village would come alive with activities. However, now a days campaigning happens with restrictions in place and the undivided Dakshina Kannada has accepted all of these restrictions wonderfully. One may see that the level of awareness among people about the parties, candidates and voting rights is rather high among the voters despite the restrictions.

Prior to 2008 constituency demarcation process, Dakshina Kannada had nine Assembly constituencies, which were reduced to eight and Udupi had six constituencies which was reduced to five.

Though in most of the constituencies it is a direct tiff between the national political giants, the Congress and the BJP, a sense of curiosity has been fuelled by other mentionable parties in fray this time, thereby creating a wait and watch situation.

Dakshina Kannada

In Mangalore South, the fight is between N Yogish Bhat (BJP) and J R Lobo (congress), while JD(S), SDPI and CPM have triggered curiosity.

In Mangalore North BJP’s Krishna J Palemar is clashing against, Congress’ Moideen Bava. However, KJP (Ramachandra Baikampady) and SDPI also said to have a role to play.

In Mangalore constituency Congress’ U T Khader will fight against Chandrahas Suvarna of BJP, but, CPM, KJP, SDPI are creating curiosity here. However, must watch is the performance of JD(S), and eight independent candidates.

In Bantwal it is a direct fight between Congress’ B Ramanath Rai and BJP’s Rajesh Naik Ulipadiguthu. However, there are possibilities of SDPI snatching some Muslim votes from Congress.

In Moodabidri, it is the fight between K Abhayachandra Jain of Congress and K Amarnath Shetty of JD(S), pushing Umanath Kotian of BJP to the third angle of the triangle.

In Puttur Congress’ Shakunthala Shetty will clash against Sanjeeva Mattandur of the BJP. However, Dinesh B N of JD(S) is said to be trying his luck from JD(S). The presence of SDPI in a big way here is said to be a must watch.

Belthangady is going to witness a direct fight between K Vasanth Bangera (Congress) and Ranjan G Gowda (BJP). CPM and JD(S) are creating waves here.

In Sullia, while S Angara of BJP will take on Dr B Raghu of Congress, lot of curiosity is being created by the fight between uncle and niece in fray, i.e. K Kushal (independent) and his niece Chandravathi from KJP.


As far as Udupi assembly constituency is concerned, Pramodh Madhwaraj from Congress will fight against B Sudhakar Shetty from BJP. An independent candidate named Alevoor Yogish Acharya is creating a lot of curiosity.

Likewise, in Byndoor, K Gopal Poojary of Congress will fight against B M Sukumar Shetty of BJP. An astonishing fact here is that five political parties and six independents are also in fray along with the national giants.

In Karkala constituency H Gopal Bhandary of Congress will fight against Sunil Kumar of BJP. KJP candidate is said to be the wait and watch factor here.

In Kaup constituency Lalaji Mendon of BJP will fight against Vinay Kumar Sorake of Congress. However, Congress veteran leader Vasanth V Salian who is now in JD(S) camp is going to make a difference here.

Kundapur has Haladi Srinivas Shetty contesing independently after breaking ties with the BJP. Malyadi Shivarama Shetty from Congress is going to take on Kishore Kumar of the BJP.

The fight

It is said that it is going to be a direct fight between the Congress and the BJP in Mangalore South, Mangalore, Mangalore North, Bantwal, Belthangady and Sullia constituencies, while many predict a triangular fight in Moodabidri and Puttur.

Likewise, Udupi, Byndoor and Karkala are going to see a direct fight between the Congress and the BJP while Kaup will see a triangular fight between the BJP, the Congress and the JD(S). In Kundapur the triangular fight is between independent candidate Haladi Srinivas Shetty, BJP and the Congress.

Though there are several candidates creating lot of curiosity, this election, many say that their performance will have very little impact on the overall election.

71 in DK; 46 in Udupi

In Dakshina Kannada district there are 71 candidates contesting from 8 constituencies. Mangalore constituency rules the roost with 15 candidates in fray. Bantwal, Puttur, Moodabidri have six each. There are 46 candidates in Udupi with 13 candidates in Byndoor.

In Dakshina Kannada and Udupi district there are 10 parties in fray. While the BJP and the Congress have fielded 13 candidates each, JD(S) has fielded 12 candidates, the KJP has fielded 10, SDPI has fielded 8, CPM and JD(U) have fielded 4 candidates each. A total of 47 independent candidates are going to try their luck during this election. Parties like NCP, PPI have fielded one candidate each and BSP has four candidates in fray.

News Source - CDN

Latest Tweets

    Message: Invalid or expired token., Please check your Twitter Authentication Data or internet connection.